top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarissa Harley

Episode 11 - Good morning campers!

Updated: Sep 23, 2020

Now that summer is finally here, we can go camping...kinda! Keep away the COVID-19 blues and take a walk down memory lane with us as we talk about some of our camping memories.


Being Canadian Girl Guides and international campers, we have camped in all kinds of environments and weather! In the photo below, Marissa scoops snow off of a tent using a goalie stick (hockey) on a Saturday morning at winter camp.


Then, once you're all camped out, join us around the campfire to learn about the author of Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day, Judith Viorst. She's written a total of 41 books: 24 of which were for children and 24 for adults. When asked about her greatest accomplishment as a children's book author, Judith responded:

"If I could pick one reason why I want to be a writer, it would be connection. In all kinds of ways, I like to be individual and distinct; but when I write, I want to be writing about things that connect me to the people for whom I write. To the extent that I can do that, I feel very satisfied that I've achieved what I want to achieve. From the letters that I get from kids, … I feel that I have achieved that with my children's books."

We also sing a very well known camp song, I Met a Bear! This song is very popular with Girl Guides and Girl/Boy Scouts in many places. This is likely due to the hilarity of the lyrics, as well as the ease of learning with a "Repeat After Me" structure.


Listen to Episode 11 now to hear all of this and more! You can also catch up on all of our previous episodes, either right here on our website or on your favourite podcast app (Spotify, Apple, Google, Anchor, etc.).


Follow us @guidesown on Twitter and Instagram for podcast news, discussions, and snippets from behind-the-scenes. If you'd like to contribute to an episode of Guides' Own, send us your ideas for topics, program, campfire songs, etc. send a message to guidesown@gmail.com.



We're hoping to be back in a tent soon but until then, be sure to keep your heads up!

Marissa & Taryn

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page